The Aerospace Engineering Department excels with double honors at the 28th ENAIRE Foundation Aeronautical Awards:

🛰️ Space Award: Alejandro Pastor Rodríguez is the proud recipient of the inaugural Space Award. His groundbreaking doctoral thesis, ‘Advanced observation correlation and orbit determination methods for the build-up and maintenance of a catalogue of space objects,’ earned this recognition. This new category applauds exceptional works with practical applications in air and space mobility. Alejandro conducted his research at Carlos III University of Madrid in collaboration with GMV, under the guidance of Prof. Manuel Sanjurjo Rivo and Diego Escobar from GMV.

🏆 Luis Azcárraga Award: Congratulations to  Fateme Baneshi, Manuel Soler, and Abolfazl Simorgh  for their outstanding work on ‘Conflict assessment and resolution of climate-optimal aircraft trajectories at network scale.’ This prestigious annual award acknowledges their noteworthy contributions to air transportation in various aspects.

These remarkable achievements were celebrated at the award ceremony on January 29th, showcasing the dedication and excellence within our aerospace community. Discover more details at ENAIRE Foundation Awards Ceremony.