On Wednesday 14th December of 2022, the ceremony of the 2nd ST3LLAR Awards Edition took place at UC3M’s Aula de Grados in Leganés.

ST3LLAR is the joint (UC3M and SENER Aeroespacial) Academic Chair and Space Technology Research Laboratory, and as part of the activities it organizes these awards granted by the Fundación SENER.

The awards recognize the excellence in research, scientific and/or technical quality of UC3M’s Final Thesis Projects (TFE) at undergraduate or master level when carried out in a subject of interest for ST3LLAR and supervised by one of its group members. In this edition, a team-design award has also been included to recognize the work performed by the students in the Space Pre-Design course at UC3M’s Master in Space Engineering (MISE).

The awards committee was formed by Mrs. Rosana Madroñal from Fundación SENER, Dr. Luis Felipe Peñín from SENER aeroespacial, and UC3M professors Luis Entrena Arrontes (Electronics dept.) and Andrés Marcos (Aerospace dept. and ST3LLAR’s director).

The following prizes were awarded:

  • TFE prizes:
    • 1st prize: Juan María Herrera Martín
    • 2nd prize: Elsa Ricq de Haro
  • Team-design prizes:
    • 1st prize: MAXIMEGALON team (Nayelli Mondragón, Jaime Fernandez, Jesús Sanchez, Marta Donate, Alnira Mei, and Borja Bayón)
    • 2nd prize: BOIRA team (Miguel Cruzat Hurtado de Mendoza, Sergio Cuevas Del Valle, Ainhoa López Mayayo, Juan María Herrera Martín, Laura Train García, and Carlos Caravaca Gallego)

Our best congratulations to the awardees (see pictures below in the above order).

Figure 1 Juan María Herrera Martín (left) & Elsa Ricq de haro (right) receiving respectively the 1st and 2nd TFE prizes.

Figure 2 The MAXIMEGALON Space Pre-Design team receiving their 1st Team award.

Figure 3 The BOIRA Space Pre-Design team receiving their 2nd Team award.